The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today people know a lot more about other countries than they used to do. Because today we people have much more facility and also, in today’s world, things are way easier than they used to be. First of all, today people travel wherever they want with just a plane ticket and visa. Now it is so much easier because in the past travelling was not a common thing, and people used to only travel for obligation and their needs. However, now we travel to see other countries and enjoy our holidays. Travelling became an activity that people do for fun and not in order to do something necessary. If you want to travel to another country it is not a big complex like in the past, you can just buy a ticket and fly to almost anywhere and last but not least it is affordable. As a result, more and more people became available to have personal experience in other countries and learn their tradition or basically how they live. Because of that now people from different nationalities understand each other’s cultures and it helps people to get on better together also, it helps to create a mixed cultural society.

The media is another thing that made it possible to know how other people live. There is a variety in mass media. For example, there are other country’s TV shows that are available to watch from almost anywhere so that you can have an idea of their culture and tradition. ln addition you can see famous places all over the world just with a little button. Also, there are too many social media programs that allow you to see how people from other countries are spending their days, what they are up to etc. You can basically learn what they do on a daily basis and you can see pictures of the places that they are going, what they are eating which is a way to learn about different cultures. Besides, you can have international internet friends so you can learn their lives better. And probably it leads to people envy others which I think is an advantage since you can change your life and point of view in a better and positive way.

Even though there are too many good sides and advantages there are a bit of disadvantages as well. For example, it causes envy in other people’s lifestyles from different nationalities and although sometimes envy is a good thing it is not always good and it leads to complexity in your life because you should not forget your own culture while adding others. And perhaps, you might envy people who travel a lot and see other countries or rich people that you see on TV and internet, which makes you want to do the same things they do while it might not be that affordable for you.

In conclusion, I think there are both advantages and disadvantages but I would say that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because now we can understand different cultures which is the best development in the modern world.