1. News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

In today’s modern world, a growing amount of news and information on television or newspapers have considerably influenced many people, so news should reflect the authentic and unbiased information.

There are some factors accounting for publishing news and broadcasts, the most noticeable, is that aiming at a high audience rating so as to maximize profits. Another contributory factor is that, for many countries, news editors have to succumb to political pressure, distorting facts and misleading the public.

Living in the information era, people are bombarded with the daily amount of news, including good and bad news, from multiple media. Lots have become addicted to the bad news, as human wars, natural disasters and gossip; some media companies use the stories of people’s private life, seductive images and violent contents to appeal viewers, especially teenagers. It means that their thoughts and behaviors might be changed and shows a tendency to hatred and violence phenomenon.

However, the role of news media in reporting good news, such as someone’s achievement and human stories. Recently, many people, readers of the newspapers and viewers of the television shows, want to know the creditable events like a peace treaty, noble contributions, and the political positive decisions. Therefore, it would be better to report good news.

In conclusion, we are not used to the bad news and editors to decide which news to be reached to us or not based on their personal financial business and unpublished political reasons. In addition, we can ensure that choosing information carefully before reading and watching are indispensable to us.