100 years ago people thought that human race was steadily making progress in all areas of life, nowadays there is less certainty that is so. In what areas do you think the most important progress has been made so far? In what areas more things need to be done?

It was believed by some people that our world has been experienced significant changes in all fields of life. However, in modern days, people may claim that these changes are only recorded in certain areas such as Medicine and Technology while there are still some limitations in Pollution and the Medicine itself.

First of all, it is undeniable that, Medicine has drastically changed over a few decades. Not only private clinics but State hospitals also provide better medical care for their patients, accompanying with a crew of skilled doctors and nurses. This is result from the proper allocation of Government’s money to upgrade hospital infrastructures and invest on comprehensive hospital staff training courses. Modern medicine also witnesses a huge success of a wide range of vaccine inventions which enables people with constraint of health to live some years longer or even be saved from fatal diseases such as HIV. Let’s take Cuba as an example of a very developed medicine nation where the lowest death rate in children below 5 has been recorded amongst other countries all over the world.

In the era of technology, modern society as well as ordinary people have gained great benefits from technology in many ways. Internet is such a way. By having a connected laptop, people are allowed to be multi-task while they are in the same place, which is totally impossible as in the past. Additionally, advanced technology has made people’s life become more convenient in the sense that daily activities such as shopping or bank transactions are incredibly completed by a mouse click. The role of human labor in production line has also significantly changed due to technology revolution, in which robots are constantly utilized to replace manual labor.

However, some people may claim that these notable changes in Medicine and Technology are still not enough. The dark side of technology development is that when it is excessively used, it is likely to lead to adverse impact on how people interact with the world. When young people have to deal with tough things, they tend to turn to virtual friends instead of having direct consultants. Accordingly, this abandonment of real relationship could result in the weakness in family bond and reduction in the sense of community.

Another heated social problem in modern days is the concern about environmental pollution. Fast-pace and industrial life have contributed a great amount of pollutants into the environment on a daily basis. Accumulated rubbish from household activities, gases and toxic emissions from factories and vehicles are heavily polluted the surrounding environment, making it unfit for people and animals to live in.

In conclusion, the world is experiencing great success in some certain areas while some others should be taken more proper attention to improve.