124

Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism on their teachers. Others think it will lead to loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that one of the ways to improve educational quality is encouraging students to give their opinion about their teacher but others believe that this method has negative effects on education environments. I would argue that giving students feedback is a useful method to improve teaching methods and materials.

From the perspective of some people, criticizing teachers by students could lead to a lack of discipline and respect in the classroom and could turn to the playground for revengeful students. They argue that it is impractical to satisfy all students so this only leads to chaos due to the massive number of comments.

But there are several benefits to allow students to criticize and make comments on their teachers. Firstly, teachers should be evaluated by students to be able to improve their teaching skills and contents. For example, without feedback from students, it would be difficult to know that speed of the class is appropriate or not. Secondly, when students give the right to criticize their course and teachers, they become more motivated and they may engage and listen during class more carefully. And finally, this method helps students to develop criticism. Criticizing a course is a good start to learn how to create useful feedback. So those students would be self-critic and they could improve themselves. In order to prevent the problems mentioned above, the evaluation should be implemented carefully and should emphasize the class materials and teaching methods rather than a person. A positive and peaceful environment should be created before evaluation and students should be polite and as natural as possible.

In conclusion, I believe that if the evaluation is implemented in a positive environment, it could bring benefits for both students and teaches, therefore, students should be allowed to criticize the teachers and class materials.