1. Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is sometimes argued that whether people should pay entry fee to visit museums. To be honest, while I have to admit that there are some advantages of charging people for admission to museums, the advantages by no means outweigh the disadvantages and it is unnecessary.

To begin with, charging visitors for the museum tickets can surely subsidy museums and improve their environment and services. This is because the museums would have more budget to repair and maintain cultural and historical artifacts. The Winter Palace Museum in Russia, for example, charges everyone who wants to enter for the fabulous paintings collected inside the palace so that it has money to buy or rent more precious collections. Since there would be more valuable things in museums to see, more people are willing to pay for admission to museums like the Winter Palace Museum.

On the other hand, many critics argue that expensive tickets cost would stop visitors to museums and negatively affect the influence of them. This is because if the visitors to museums decrease dramatically, chances to promote local cultural heritage would drop correspondingly. According to recent surveys from Oxford University, most tourists would not go to museums if they have to pay for tickets. In addition, many museums do not have to charge visitors to keep running because they usually have subsidies from the state government. It is therefore clear that charging people for admission a museum is not a wise policy.

In conclusion, it may benefit museums financially for charging tickets, but in the long term, this would have some serious impacts on local cultural transmission.