(2.4.2022): In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, the number of older people has exceeded youthful people. Although there can be no doubt that life expectancy people can be beneficial to society to a certain extent, I assert that this development will do more harm than benefit.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the positive edges of a dramatic increase in the proportion of people aged 60 or more. The first reason relates to the rich wisdom and knowledge that they have learned throughout their lives. Therefore, they can make a positive contribution to the community, and solve conflict or challenge that boosts the economic prospect. Also, valuable comprehension is transferred hands-on experience to the young generations to promote. In addition, older people spend most of their time staying at home so they can help parents take care of kids. For example, my grandparent brought me up and taught me valuable life lessons that brought me chances to improve myself when my parents were at work.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I still believe aging populations bring nations more harm. The main one is the increase in the economic pressure to sustain older people. For instance, the government will need to divert more funding into elderly care, which will shoulder a greater tax burden and place a heavy obligation on healthcare systems. Furthermore, a decline in the working-aging population plays a vital role in hancing push-up wages causing wage inflation. As a result, young people who deal with unemployment will not be able to support the entire elderly population financially.

In conclusion, the expanding number of older people in comparison to younger people is a negative development for the healthcare and productivity of the labor force.