8. With the development of the media online, there is no future for the radio. Do you agree.

Media is an omnipresent tool in this fast-paced society. Some may agree that with the advancements in media, the purpose of radio has become irrelevant. However, I believe that radio has significant contribution to the society.

Proponents may argue that with booming mass media such as the internet, television and social media, the functions of radio have diminished with regards to its frequency only being available in open areas and hence, limiting its use to remote places. Radio has also been replaced substantially by these media outlets because of its declining target audience. In early times, radio used to be a source of entertainment when preparing a meal, to listen to the early news or get updated commentary on live sport events. Nowadays, these roles have drastically catered only to the elderly as youngsters prefer the internet to browse through the songs and news.

Having said that, radio plays a pivotal element in today’s world. It is a prevalent factor during emergencies such as earthquakes or when a car passes through the tunnel. In addition, it still serves entertainment in rural areas where there are limited media platforms. Moreover, radio signifies a symbol for many households where it is continues to be used as leisure time for songs or commentary channels. For example, in India, many households tune in to the radio in the early mornings for the news while they engage in their activities. Hence, this shows that there is a future for the radio.

In brief, radio always will be instrumental in today’s world.