6. In the last few decades, there have been more and more cases of famous people being hounded by the press. Some people think that famous people in the media have no right privacy. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times, media is ever-present in a celebrity’s life. Although some might agree that media does not necessarily invade a person’s privacy, I believe that it hugely impacts one’s right to privacy.

Proponents may argue that the right to privacy is solely handled properly by the celebrities. With immense protection such as security guards and heavy protocols established in a public area, many celebrities have kept their private lives away from scrutiny. Moreover, they invest in huge sums by hiring a professional entourage for their own protection. With heavy publicity from being well-known, they are aware of the implications that comes with it and hence, they are mindfully alert about the paparazzi.

Having said that, the rights to privacy have diminished in recent times due to the booming mass media culture. Fans are always curious on the whereabouts of their idol at all times. For example, fans are intrigued on whom their idol is dating or where they are going on a vacation. This in turn encourages paparazzi to surpass private moments of a celebrity in order to attain the breaking news. In addition, the media culture has evolved dramatically such that a paparazzi photograph of a famous celebrity will be sold off at an enormous amount to media outlets. A case in point is how media played a prevalent factor in Princess Diana’s death in Paris. As much conspiracy sparked the case, one of such was how photographers chased Princess Diana’s car at high speed on motorbikes which may have caused the crash in the tunnel. This proved how media became irresponsible of their insensitive acts when it comes to the privacy of a celebrity.

In conclusion, though it may seem that privacy is a factor one should handle, media should be increasingly more sensitive to one’s rights to confidentiality.