More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

In this fast-paced society, contemporary lifestyle has undoubtedly presented with invariable health risks. Some may agree that these risks cannot be cured with current medicines but instead with traditional medicine. In my opinion, I agree with this statement that traditional medicine should be promoted in today's society.

Proponents may argue that present-day way of life brings about alarming rate of type 2 diabetes, high cholesterol levels and cardiovascular risks due to the sedentary lifestyle that people face nowadays. These health problems are treated more efficiently with modern medications such as insulin injection for diabetic patients. Moreover, emergency situations like stroke due to prolonged blood pressure require the immediate attention of advanced equipment in modern medicine to treat these cases. Hence, it is sometimes necessary to rely on current medicine for the cure.

Having said that, conventional medicines should be promoted to curb issues like obesity and diabetes. Firstly, long-established medicines are proven to have less side effects which is a pivotal factor that many elderly look into. Moreover, they have long-term benefits in treating a disease. One of such traditional medicine is acupuncture which is a renowned traditional chinese medicine that has effective results in treating current issues like gout where the high uric acid is formed in parts of the body. Another well-known traditional medicine is ayurvedic which is popular in India for its long-term effects that it possesses for the patients such as the beneficial weight loss treatment has proven to promote a healthier diet among the patients. As a result, traditional medicine should not be ignored and instead it should be encouraged.

In conclusion, modern diseases should be treated with both traditional and current medicine.