More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged.

To what extent do you agree?

More individuals are suffering from health problems unresponsive to modern medications as a result of the contemporary lifestyle. Therefore, some people believe that traditional medicine should be returned to use. I disagree with this opinion and will explain in this essay.

Traditional medicine is made of natural resources such as plants or herbs, but in today’s time, the purity of these ingredients cannot be protected due to the contamination stemming from environmental issues. Thus, this will affect the effectiveness of traditional medicine, rendering it ineffective in treating ailments. The efficacy of medicinal plants is influenced by current environmental problems, including polluted water or contaminated soil. Mint, for example, is a tree famous for curing fever. If being planted in polluted soil, it could lose its medicinal effects, wrecking havoc on people’s health instead of providing treatment.

The increase in incurable health conditions does not result from the inadequacy of modern medicine, but is due to current unhealthy living habits. If people want to prevent themselves from incurable chronic diseases, they need to change their lifestyles first. If they do not attempt to do so, traditional or modern medicine could not save their lives from these diseases. Therefore, there is no need to encourage the use of traditional medicine when people already live healthily. Living healthier can improve people’s mentality and health significantly without too much reliance on natural or artificial medications. For instance, people who engage in excessive tobacco use face a high risk of lung cancer, diminishing their prospects for survival.

In conclusion, I believe that the revival of traditional medicine is unnecessary since its effectiveness cannot be preserved due to the increasing environmental pollution nowadays. Furthermore, traditional or modern medicine will be rendered useless in curing untreatable chronic diseases if people have no intention of pursuing healthy lifestyles.