An academic year is divided into two semesters to allow students to have a break. Recently, universities divide an academic year into three trimesters saying that this is more effective and more cost-efficient. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The changes in university academic term is inevitable. Traditionally, there are only two semesters per academic year, but recently, some universities offer trimestral studies, claiming that this kind of system is more beneficial to students. It might be advantageous because of the shortened length of the course study, but this type of academic term system does not favor the writer's opinion.

On one hand, trimester studies are cost-efficient because the traditional length of a particular field of study will be shortened. This allows students to take up more subjects in one academic year than the usual two-semester term. Less expenditure will be alotted to course units as some are merged in order to accommodate more subjects that are needed to finish within the specified semester. In addition, the length of stay within the university level is shorter than usual allowing some time to find employment oppurtunities. For instance, the course Hotel and Restaurant Management degree is usually a four-year course whereas it will only take about three to three and a half years in trimester colleges to finish it so that by the time student A graduates from this kind of university system, student B will still be in their fourth year. However, as this kind of academic term is fast-paced, some students may find it hard to cope up.

On the other hand, subjects are taken up longer in a two-semester university. This allows students to be exposed and eventually grasp the topic in a well-detailed manner. As a result, the ability to understand about a particular topic is not compromised as each subject matter is important in the foundation of the course chosen. In turn, the student is equipped with the appropriate knowledge and skills needed in employment career. Furthermore, the need for a vacation break is crucial in this stage as the amount of study-related stress is high. The number of subjects given per semester are dependent on the chosen course but detailed explanation are made especially the major subjects of the particular course matter. Most students may find it hard to understand the amount of information these subjects provide resulting to some students escaping class and eventually quitting the course matter in the end. This happens when a student is not given the time to enjoy oneself and that this environment is not all about steressors.

In conclusion, trimestral universities offer a faster way to graduate tertiary level through merging subjects and disallowing breaks to save time. Whilst it may may be a good idea to earn one's degree in a less time-consuming manner, it is my strong belief that subjects should be presented in a well-explained manner withouth comprising a minor detail and that students need to have breaks to compensate for a life away from problems in the university.