According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourist in the 1960s and 70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture.

Why do you think this happen? How was tourism different in the past?

Nowadays, people usually go to their tourist destination by a direct flight and stay in quite impressive modern hotels, so they have no chance to see local residents in comparison with the past. In this regard, holidaymakers definitely come back to their cities with no experience of their destination culture.

The first cause of the fact why visitors in the past could obtain more experience is that they accommodated in caravanserai at nights, therefore, the habitual behavior of the inhabitants was seen by visitors during the companionship. The second reason is tourists went on a trip by some animals like horses or monkeys. So, traveling at a place usually took ages and there was a great chance for encountering the difficult situations to experience new things. Moreover, people traveled rarely for leisure and the main reasons were trade or adventure and they knew they would be challenge with real risks.

Today, tourism has changed and tourists set off a journey not only for a job, but also mostly for holidays. In this framework, visitors go straightly to a destination by fast trains or airplanes. This is the best solution to reply the hectic lifestyle but it cause they will be deprived of a lot of experiences to be familiar with a new culture. In addition, staying in comfortable unique suits cause holidaymakers be away from local residents. Furthermore, people roughly prefer to go off a beaten track during off-peak period. In other words, the tendency of visitors has been changed to being in a peace and quiet places with no noisy people.

As a consequence, tourism has taken another shape in comparison with the past regarding this fact that today tourists are getting less experience about the culture of their destinations by changing the way of traveling and accommodating.