Advance in artificial intelligence has developed quickly. Computers can translate very confidently. To what extent do you think studying a foreign language is unnecessary?

Artificial Intelligence has been advanced to the point that computers can confidently translate different languages. However, it does not mean that the need to learn foreign languages is reduced. Instead, I believe that people should learn at least one language other than their mother tongue.

The first reason is learning foreign languages bring out many benefits to the learners. For instance, knowing a new language gives you the chance to approach and comprehend new cultures, history and customs. The machine is not yet able to convey such complicated matters to the user. In addition, being bilingual or multilingual mean you can easily connect with more people, which in turn will yield more opportunities in later life. Hence, people with the ability to speak in different languages generally have more competitive advances in the current job market.

Even though there are extreme advances in computer science in recent years, machine translation is still inaccurate. Even Google Translate, one of the most popular machine-translating tools, can mainly translate simple words without contextual meaning. More often than most, it gives out erroneous results in the cases of complex phrases such as idioms or long sentences. Sometimes the auto-translated words have different meanings than what you want to say. I do not think that many people want to be put in such embarrassing situations.

In conclusion, while computerised translations are helpful, I strongly believe that they cannot replace the need for learning a foreign language. Also, machine translations are often inaccurate and might cause unwanted misunderstandings.