There are more men or women in certain jobs and there’s nothing we can change about it. Do you agree with that?

The idea that there are more men or women in certain jobs, and there is nothing we can change about it, which lies among arguable debates, has again sparked controversy. Some proponents maintain that there are jobs that favours a specific gender than the other, while opponents claim that we should try to get gender-balancing in jobs. This essay will put both sides of the continuous issues under scrutiny, hence arrive at a conclusion.

To begin with, there is a myriad of reasons that some jobs are only suitable for a specific gender. However, the most evident one is derived from the fact that the nature of some jobs is either physically or mentally more fit for a gender. For instance, the gentle nature of women helps them to easily finish tasks like dealing with young children or patients, while men’s muscular gives them more advantages in labour works. Whilst there is no fixed rule, these characteristics make the employer tend to hire more of a particular gender that generally fit the job’s requirement.

Moving on to consider the opposing arguments put forward by critics, some people believe that men and women have the same working capability, so there should be more gender-balancing in jobs selection. It is largely attributed to the fact that many works which mostly thought to be only be done by men in the past, were proven to be nicely completed by women. An instance illustrating this idea is that Marie Curie, who won Nobel Prize for physics at a time when science was dominated by men. Likewise, women have been able to conquer the sky, mountains and seas, as well as men, despite the lack of strength in general.

In summary, despite both sides having valid and logical arguments, a final conclusion must be drawn, and I am deeply convinced that gender neutrality is important, and both men and women can perform jobs as well as the others.