As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

The idea that governments should look forward to creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population, which lies among arguable debates, has again sparked controversy. Some proponents maintain that government should focus on public transportation, while opponents claim that giving priority to facilitate roads for privately owned vehicles. This essay will put both sides of the continuous issues under scrutiny, hence arrive at a final conclusion.

To begin with, there are a myriad of reasons why focusing on public transportation is important. Firstly, public transportation will help cities and countries to reduce the amount of traffic during the working hours, thus reduce unnecessary congestion. Secondly, it is more environmentally friendly as the energy consumption is drastically reduced. Furthermore, people can cut down on travelling budget by using public transport rather than using their own vehicles.

Moving on to consider the opposing arguments put forward by critics, some people believe that government should pay more attention to improving roads for privately owned vehicles. It is largely attributed to the fact that it gives people more freedom in the choice of travel. For example, a bus user must wait at the bus stop and also may have to transfer a few times, in different routes to get to his destination while a private vehicle owner can go straight to the same place in a shorter time. Furthermore, since both types of transports can share parts of the road network, improving roads can also so improve public transport’s efficiency.

In summary, despite both sides having valid and logical arguments, a final conclusion must be drawn, and I am deeply convinced that government should focus on improving public transportation.