Some people believe that all cities and towns should have at least one large public open space. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that all cities and towns should have at least one large public open space, which lies among arguable debates, has again sparked controversy. Some proponents maintain that it is important to maintain at least one of those, while opponents claim that space should be reserved for housing and other improvements. This essay will put both sides of the continuous issues under scrutiny, hence arrive at a final conclusion.

To begin with, there are a myriad of reasons favour the public open area. However, the most evident one is derived from the fact that parks help in reducing pollution, thanks to their number of trees. Furthermore, other open areas such as squares are also important as they are people can hold public events such as festivals, public meetings, etc. A square can also be a historical location, attaching tourists and imperative for people to preserve it for the next generations.

Moving on to consider the opposing arguments put forward by critics, some people believe that space should be reserved for housing and other improvements. It is largely attributed to the fact that the world population keeps increasing, and cities and towns are running out of room to shelter their residents. Not only housing, the need for hospitals, schools, etc. also grows, thus more spaces are required.

Furthermore, people can choose to have other types of indoor recreations such as cinema or theatre or take a trip out of towns to enjoy open space in natural reserves.

In summary, despite both sides having valid and logical arguments, a final conclusion must be drawn, and I am deeply convinced that it is important to retain at least one public park or square for the cities and towns’ residents.