Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labor. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to advancement in technology and automatic machines, manual labor work has been minimized in Industries. So, it is argued by some people that working hours should be reduced to increase profitability. However, I disagree with this because it will lead to many issues.

One of the major issues, Unemployment ratio, which is already high in all the countries of the world. In other words, lessening working hours result in a reduction in staff and increasing the employment ratio. Hence, these jobless people may either commit crimes or get indulge in any illegal activities to get money for their survival.

The second reason is that automation has made the sedentary life of humans. Moreover, the majority of the jobs are performed by the machines, which are computer operated and require less human efforts. Consequently, health issues such as obesity, back pain, diabetes and so on, are being escalated day by day.

Lastly, if we decrease working hours by introducing automatic machines, people may get frustrated because they will get less wage, which may increase accident cases in industry and it is not only threatening for the family members but also devastating for the companies.

In conclusion, rather than reducing the working hours we should change a portfolio by giving additional required training which will plummet unemployment and elevate job satisfaction and a healthy lifestyle.