Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labor. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to advancement in technology and automatic machines, manual labour work has been minimized in Industries. So, it is argued by some people that working hours should be reduced to increase profitability. However, I disagree with this because it will lead to many issues.

One of the major issues, Unemployment ratio, which is already high in all the countries of the world. In other words, lessening working hours in industries, which result in a reduction in staff and increasing the employment ratio overall. Hence, these jobless people may either commit crimes in society or get indulge in any kind of illegal activities to get money for their survival.

The second reason is that automation has made the sedentary life of humans as well as making them machine dependents which is decreasing their thinking ability. Moreover, the majority of the jobs are performed by the machines, which are computer operated and require less human efforts. Consequently, health issues such as obesity, back pain, diabetes and so on, are being escalated day by day.

Lastly, if we decrease working hours by introducing automatic machines in companies to reduce staff than they may get frustrated because they will get less wage and their focus will be minimized towards their work, which may increase accident cases in industry and it is not only threatening for the family members but also devastating for the companies progress.

In conclusion, rather than reducing the working hours we should change a portfolio by giving additional required training which will plummet unemployment and elevate job satisfaction and a healthy lifestyle.