Advantages and disadvantages when using Facebook as an online learning platform

As 2020 around, the outbreak COVID-19 turned into an international pandemic. As a result, colleges and universities all around the world are now obliging students to finish coursework by using social networks. The most popular social network among these is Facebook, it is undeniable that Facebook has both advantages and drawbacks in terms of online learning.

First, there are manifold uses of Facebook to learning besides Facebook's original purpose, which is to connect people through the Internet. In this way, the educational advantages lie mostly in Facebook's coverage level, availability, and quick connections. Next, Facebook can provide an online platform where users can create profiles, generate and share content and information, and interact with other learners. For example, the lecturers can gather students together to establish a forum and update assignments. Consequently, the students will feel immediately more connected to teachers when they have any unsolving problems. Furthermore, students to find recent topics, active discussions even when they have been absent from online learning for a couple of days.

On the other hand, some drawbacks are from this online platform. This is quite hard for lecturers to check the attendance by using Facebook when compared with the other learning app like Zoom. On the dashboard page of Zoom, teachers can see who joined the course, as well as who posted a comment or an entry to the learning journal. Also, Zoom allows the students and lecturers to learn face-to-face and up to 100+ can join the meeting at the same time. According to the survey of #voicesofyouth, Xiao Yu, 16 years old, China said: “Compared with normal schooling, online learning is less effective to me. Also, I miss my friends, staying at home for such a long time is so boring".

To sum up, using Facebook for online learning was such a great idea for this harsh time because students can not go to school right now. By using this online platform, of course, brings back a lot of problems, whether it advantages or disadvantages, it depends on the learner's awareness.