The increasing need for a universal language, which is widely acceptable by the majority, has been striking recently because of the benefits it can bring into our life. However, some may argue that the appearance of a global language, such as English could undermine the traditional and cultural values of many countries. Personally, I think that it is wise to be able to use one single communication tool for different purposes, and I will tell the reason why in this essay.

Let's start by looking at how convenient a single language was, if it would be used by every individuals on the planet. As we have known previously, the intrinsic cultural values rooted in every languages are often overlooked and neglected in the translation process, which can amount to communication breakdown. For example, one word can lose its original meaning if it is translated from the indigenous language to another language and vice versa. Not only using English comes in handy with the translation process, can it promote the information and commodity exchange among nations. The world today is characterized by successive interactions and growing interdependence between countries, where people from different cultures, thinking and lifestyles gather together to do business. There is no place for regional isolation and absolute national sovereignty. Obviously, an international language can solve all the problems.

On the other hand, it is argued that a global language could bring into dire consequences on each country. If a notion of a single language could be achieved, there would be a disappearance of a great number of other languages. This is taken into account as a great loss in terms of tradition and cultural values. While "Americanization" is threatening the preservation of the indigenous values, young people around the world tend to celebrate more Western special occasions, such as Valentine's Day or Halloween, than their conventional occasions.

In conclusion, there are heated controversies among whether accepting English as a global language is reasonable or not. Though, I think that the major drawbacks can not outweigh the benefits, and considering English as a widely accepted communication medium is a good move for any country.