Music is essential to any individual's life and being able to master any kind of musical instrument at early age is what any parents desire. Personally, I do not entirely agree with this, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, the ability to play an instrument fluently takes up most of a child's leisure time. I believe that young learners' timetable needs to be divided reasonably so as to maximize their overall abilities. Rudimental skills in surviving and the importance of achieving adequately performance at school curriculum are not something that can be hinderred. Furthermore, consideration of playing an musical instrument is pivotal will deviate their children from other vital purposes, for instances, spending necessary quality time with their parents, taking part in outdoor activities with other classmates. Finally, every child is inherited mainly from their own parents' genes, not to mention, each child is greatly affected by the environment which they are living in. The human brain receive all inputs from outside and gradually develop autonomous behaviour which leads to a particular reaction to different kind of situation. Some of the kids react positively when hearing a serene sound, the other may typically show interested in colors and shapes. If a child being forced to do something that a chemical reaction does not occur then it is unlikely that that child will pursuing in music in the future.

I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that achieving such a high reward at younger age is not only benificial to themselves but also to the parents and society overall. Yet I believe it only applies to a minority group of children where they have shown full potential in pursuing music career.

To conclude, I feel that being able to play a musical instrument at younger age is to strive for. However it needs to be a gradual process and is in the child's interest.