With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The number of people paying a visit to libraries regularly has been decreasing since the introduction of digital media online years ago. Some say that it is better off to provide students with access to online materials to replace traditional textbooks. There are both merits and demerits to this argument and I will discuss them in this essay.

Let us start by looking at how the digital source of knowledge positively affects the way students learn during their courses. First of all, the convenience of the easy accessibility to online books create chances for on-the-go learning experiences. which means learners can log in to their account and start learning anytime with a mobile device. Ideally, this enables them to consolidate and build up knowledge whenever they are having an unsolvable question in mind. Furthermore, real books are heavy and not easy to be carried around, so studying at home or in libraries is more favorable. While digital materials are lightweight and information searching time is reduced to a few seconds since the computational algorithms developed, more people are choosing to change their way of learning. For example, a 12-centimeter in diameter disc can store a whole Encyclopedia Britannica, which in printed volumes, could occupy a shelf section.

On the other hand, because computers are prevalent and easy to upload and download all kinds of sources, most of the online information is not officially approved by any authorities or publishers. Some of them are likely to be misleading and be written in favor of the uploaders. For instance, in Vietnam, there was an online article which claimed that slippers, sandals and other things being sold in Vietnam markets, which were imported from China, were detrimental to people's health. It has been proved that these types of news are false alarms and should not be published online to trick people.

In conclusion, it is still a hot debate topic on whether the role of the library has become obsolete. However, I think that students should find the balance between these two sources of knowledge, with the help of their formal mentors, in order to achieve greatness in their school curriculum.