Environmentalists in the world all agree that, nowadays, rivers, lakes and other water resources are being polluted by a variety of human activities. In this essay, I will look at some main causes for this to happen, and the dire consequences would be followed if we do not maintain the preservation of the environment.

Let us start by looking at the possible reasons for the water pollution. First of all, many lakes and rivers are close to the neighborhood where a lot of daily activities are ongoing. Intentionally or unintentionally, household waste such as leftover food, plastic bags and garbage has been dumped into the water, without further consideration of the destructiveness to the atmosphere. For example, it tends to be a more convenient and faster way to get rid of a bag full of trash if we can throw it to the nearby lake, rather than having to walk all the way to the trash collection point. Secondly, because of the greedy and carelessness of the local governments, factories and other heavy industrialized companies are allowed to be built near the sea, where there are a lot of living sea creatures and the locals depends heavily on the fishing activity. In Vietnam, there was a case when a fashion factory dumped colored water, which was poisoned through the process of dyeing fabrics, into the sea, leading to the ecosystem degradation.

While some people may argue that this has adverse effects on the animal preservation, human society can also be damaged as well. As we have known, pure water is on the top list of vital needs to survive to any kind of living creatures. Fish and other sea animals may not have an ideal habitat to give birth to their offsprings. Consequently, people might lose one of the main source of food which has rich nutrients and vitamins.

In conclusion, there are many factors which can affect our water resources such as human destructive behaviors and the act of the government. If we do not start to do something about it, it will exert negative impacts on the existence of the marine life and our life.