Nowadays, the ongoing crimes in both rural and urban area in many country worry both the citizen and the government. People have been arguing about whether criminal reports should be public on media. In this essay, I will look both sides of the argument and propose my opinion.

Let us start by looking at the benefits of the public announcement of crimes. First of all, not only the detailed information of the criminals but also the way they have carefully planned before committing crime are publicized. By this way, the crime reports broadcasted on the television alert people to stay out of trouble ahead. For example, since the locals know that there is an appearance of vandalism, murderers and rapist in the neighborhood, street cameras and police patrols are active with a greater frequency for the sake of safety. Moreover, the convicted delinquent after being released by police tend not to break the law again if he or she knows their personal information has been spread out widely. Hence, it would raise a sense of guilty inside and they would not likely to fall in to the dark side again.

On the other hand, the prominent of crime reports may exert negative impacts on the society. Petty crimes such as shoplifting and political criminals deserve a second chance as their actions are not considered to be damaging to the life of other people. If we punish them too hard, it will raise some kind of hatred and resentment in them during the reintegration into the society. Besides, these offenders may also have children who are still in school at a very young age. There is highly probable that these kids will be discriminated from other classmates, some of them might fail to build rapports with their peers or even drop out of schools early.

In conclusion, there are still controversial discussions on whether details of crimes should be hidden or not. Personally, I think the decisions made rely on the crime committed. Simply putting all types of criminals in the same cell is reckless, heartless and unfair to the people who are willing to become good again.