The advantages of travelling

It is not uncommon that people have been travelling on holidays or special occasions either to other parts of their country or overseas for years. To the best of my knowledge, the primary benefits of this activity are its profound influences on our ways of thinking and process of self-improvement.

To commence with, taking trips can change what we think of life and our attitude towards it. When going far away, we get to meet people that not only live in different places but also belong to various cultures. Consequently, there is no doubt that they have mindsets dissimilar to ours. By dint of having conversations, interacting with them, we are able to abolish our flawed and old-fashioned prejudices, alter them with more comprehensive ones. For instance, we may realise how crucial it is to be less indifferent to others' struggles, or it may dawn on us that wherever we go, kindness and sympathy are existent. We are thus encouraged to treat others decently or to look on the bright side of life.

In addition, travelling allows us to enhance ourselves since it is conducive to identifying our strengths and weaknesses. A wide range of activities such as deciding the destinations and which hotel to stay at, or asking strangers for information about directions, local traditions, etc are to be done during journeys. Carrying out these steps of having a vacation, we can recognise whether we are good at making decisions, planning, communicating or not and know what skills we are lacking, therefore improving our shortcomings. To exemplify, if we find ourselves having difficulty talking to strangers, we should make efforts to socialise and make new friends more frequently.

To summarise, it is apparent from the preceding paragraphs that travelling provides us with opportunities to reevaluate our view of life and to turn ourselves into better individuals.