Nowadays, tourism has developed and contributed a significant portion of national income to its own country. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, it is apparent that tourism has grown rapidly and provided a considerable source of income for many countries around the world. In this essay, I will examine the upside and downside of this development, as well as my opinion that the latter outweighs the former.

On the plus side, tourism has brought about economic growth and promotion of a variety of cultures. As people visit an area, jobs in restaurants, shops, hotels,... emerge to cater to their needs. It follows therefore that unemployment is greatly reduced, especially in remote areas, which enhances both the locality’s economy and the living standard of its people. Moreover, there is no denying that travelers tend to seek new and unique experiences during their vacations, which makes it self-explanatory why regions with special cultural features should appeal to them. In effect, regions having unique traditions, cuisine and history will become popular not only nationwide, but also worldwide, together with the encouragement to preserve those distinctive qualities.

On the minus side, it is believed that this industry causes drawbacks that cannot be overlooked, some of which are environmental destruction and over-reliance on tourism. Indeed, a number of tourists litter at beauty spots, either deliberately or unwittingly, which spoils the beauty of such sites. As an illustration, it is common to see plastic waste lying alongside the sidewalks in Hanoi or floating on the surface of West Lake. Additionally, forests are cut down and altered with resorts, which leads to higher frequency and more immense damage of natural disasters. Another problem presented is lop-sided development, which means that some regions only focus on the tourism industry instead of other fields such as technology, education, etc.

In my judgment, the negative aspects have more far-reaching consequences in the long run. Destructive natural disasters, scattered rubbish and unbalanced development in fields other than tourism are likely to degrade the living standard of the local residents.

To summarize, I think that despite having some evident benefits, over-commercialization of tourism will undermine the quality of life because of damage caused to the environment lack of concern for other industries.