Advertisement has been common in today's society. Many people deem that advertisements targeted at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this standpoint?

In light of the fast-growing proliferation of the Internet and technological devices, advertising is becoming more and more popular in everyday lives. It is highly recommended that advertisements aimed at children should be prohibited. While advertising may indeed have some potential drawbacks, i believed that it should not be banned because of the substantial benefits offered to kids

On the one hand, widespread advertising poses numerous threats to children that are worthy of consideration. To begin with, advertisements targeted at children are highly suggestible, which triggers their buying decisions. In this case kids cannot yet define what is ultimately their best self-interests. Frequent exposure to commercials such as toys or clothes stimulates their unreasonable desire to buy these kinds of products. As a result, once their requirements are not met by their parents, kids would probably throw tantrums to any other people around. In addition, there is a problem that certain advertising products are conveying the message of beauty standard or stereotype, thus, leads to erroneous beliefs of children. It can be seen that many cosmetic advertisements have already created the idealized female beauty and unintentionally promoted the message of which is the more favorable and desirable skin color. Children bombarded by these types of TVC do not have the capability of making judgment, hence, absorb the knowledge or viewpoint they access. Gradually, these distorted knowledge leads to the consequence that kids detest their skin color or even the worst scenario, are racist against back-skinned people

On the other hand, regardless of all aforementioned drawbacks, I agree that there should not be a ban on advertising aimed at children because of several social values. Firstly, advertisements make a contribution to developing good eating habits for children. For instance, television ads of Mayonnaise, a company providing the sauces to accompany salad and numerous other healthy foods, often have compelling and eye-catching visual effects. These TVCs arouse kids’ interest in vegetables, a genre of food that they consider as something unattractive and unsavory. The more frequently children watch these videos, the more vegetables or healthy products they will probably consume. Moreover, a great deal of advertisers tend to convey the messages of kindness and sympathy to children in their advertising campaigns, by taking “Vươn cao Viet Nam” of Vinamilk as an example. Children when coming to contact with this TVC will generate by far sympathy and mutual love for children in mountainous areas. These captivating messages have a positive impact on kids’ personality development.

In conclusion,despite the fact that advertisements have some negative impacts on children, there is no need for people to get rid of advertisements from our daily lives. Children have the opportunity to reap tremendous benefits from advertising, including stimulating their healthy eating habits and moral development, among others.