Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that young criminals should be similarly prosecuted as mature ones. From my perspective, I firmly believe that there should not be the same way to punish the young committing crimes as adults do

On the one hand, it could be unfair if children with a lack of moral capacity and thorough understanding of the world and consequences are condemned similarly to adults. Being deficient in management of control poses a higher possibility of illegal acts committed by the young mind. In specific circumstances, a majority of grown-ups have the ability to stop themselves but younger ones, once instigated, may act on impulse and cause regret. Instead of being sentenced to years of incarceration, young offenders should be given an opportunity to correct the mistakes that are made because of ignorance and loss of control at the minute moments

Since young people might take the advantage of lenient laws for treating juvenile offenders, there are numerous different ways to treat young lawbreakers. To begin with, adolescents committing crimes on impulse with full regret should be given leeway and an opportunity to rehabilitate. With the young mind, it is likely easier to educate them as a way to avoid the same wrongdoings in the future. In addition, for juvenile offenders with meticulous plans to commit crimes posing a threat to society, punishment must always be proportionate to the gravity of the crime and the age of the offender should be a minor factor that affects their consideration.

In conclusion, although many people tend to think that adolescents should be treated the same as grown people, others feel that the underdevelopment of their cognitive skills and lack of experience can be the major reasons to avoid any sentences. Personally, it would be unreasonable to punish juvenile criminals equally as matured ones due to ignorance or angst.