It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct. There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Agree or disagree?

That many kinds of animals have been on the verge of extinction is believed as a natural selection, thus, there are no compelling reasons for us to protect them. From my own perspective, I disagree with this short-sighted and irresponsible conviction.

It is undeniable that millions of years ago, many species of animals such as dinosaurs were wiped out due to the climate change in our planet. However, human activities are the predominant contributor to the disappearance of wild animals. Habit loss deriving from industry, housing and agricultural farming causes mass extinction. As a result, it wreaks havoc on the food chain and increases encounters between wild species and people. In such situations, animals can be killed through pesticides, accidents such as collisions with cars, or hunting for commercial purposes.

Moreover, people should have responsibility for protecting animal species due to the obvious fact that animals play a significant role in the balance of the ecosystems and human lives as well. Extracting wildlife from its natural habitat inevitably leads to disastrous results, which can be justified that if a single animal becomes extinct, the whole food chain will be disrupted. For our daily lives, some species of animals play an important role in socio-cultural values which creates traditions and customs in a certain place. For instance, in some religions, cows are revered and worshiped as gods.

The extinction of some animal species is not solely a natural process but primarily man-made causes. Humans are held accountable and should take some effective measures to help preserve wild animals.