Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising industry is becoming increasingly so widespread that no one can avoid the sound and images of advertisements, and people claim that this phenomenon brings about many benefits to their communities. While I cannot deny the positive points of advertisement, I believe that its drawbacks cannot be ignored.

On the one hand, watching and investing in advertisements are attractive for some reasons. In terms of companies themselves, they use effective and creative adverts to reach their target customers, leading to the increase in sales and profits. Also, the development of advertising expands job opportunities for a large number of individuals such as editors, copywriters, assistances. Regarding customers, some informative advertisements may provide details about products and services in the market, enabling customers to choose the suitable ones among the bewildering range. For example, with the availability of adverts, those who want to book a holiday of a lifetime can make the right choice of accommodation and destination, which suit their pockets.

On the other hand, it seems to me that advertising causes considerable disadvantage for innocent customers. Firstly, these days, advertisements are too prevalent that no one can escape their power, whether they are commercials, online advertisements or even telemarketing, disturbing our privacy. A typical example will be the times I have received regular phone calls from telesales staff, while I need relaxation or concentration. Furthermore, people are tempted by sound and visual effects of adverts to make an impulsive purchase, which are unnecessary and unaffordable. Moreover, some companies tried to exaggerate or distort the quality of their products, leading to our disappointment.

In conclusion, due to the reasons mentions, I am convinced that advertising is both advantageous and dis advantageous.