Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development ?

In recent days, the advertising field has been growing at a rapid pace and becoming ubiquitous in daily life. From my perspective, I believe that this phenomenon has an adverse bearing on society for three main reasons below

First of all, the mass coverage of advertisements is a real nuisance. As the advent of the technological field has been a push for the marketing field, advertisements now appear in a variety of forms: commercial break, pops-up on website,s and others, which interrupt our experiences on online platforms. Hence, people need to click the close button instantly or pay for ad-free content at high prices.

The second reason is that the content of many advertisements may take advantage of false information to trick people into buying unnecessary things. For example, there are a host of health newspapers and blogs that are subtly advertising their products. These newspapers can be in name of creditable sources with catching articles and cause misinformation among their readers. Therefore, we should take caution when acquiring information from the Internet.

Last but not least, the ubiquity of advertising can take on toll on nature. Exposure to advertising with increasing frequency may encourage people to buy on impulses which lead to wastage. Apart from vast footprints from the manufacturing process, these products also cause pollutions when disposed into the environment. Hence, excessive consumption for reasons like keeping with the latest fashion can result in disaster in the foreseen future.

In conclusion, the development of advertising has negative influences on society and the environment as well. For that reason, actions should be taken to diminish the repercussions of this phenomenon.