Advertising campaigns on TV that are targeted at children should be banned.To what extent to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that we are increasingly surrounded by advertisements that want to stimulate young people to purchase their products. While some people state that some of these are incompatible, I think that they are still useful for children.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that some of the marketing strategies exert pernicious influence upon youngsters. Firstly, teenagers are now bombarded with too many kinds of adverts, some of which are likely to contain numerous unsuited contents such as sexual or violent images. Secondly, companies are step-by-step commercializing their commodity to entice prospective adolescents by inviting celebrities to publicize their brands. Finally, children put pressure on parents to purchase them things on television.

On the other hand, authorities should not put a ban on these types of adverts for a variety of reasons. The key factor leading to my opinion is that despite their offspring’s demand, parents also choose to buy products not just depending on publicity but also by their qualities. Moreover, there are a great deal of broadcasting propaganda of advantageous learning tools on television. For example, electronic dictionaries and alphabet still play an indispensable role in the development of people who are growing up. Furthermore, governments should control the related problems. To illustrate, they should censor false information on stocks that can be a detriment to people’s health condition such as smoking, unhealthy foods.

In conclusion, although marketing aiming at youngsters sometimes have adverse impacts, I personally believe that they should not be prohibited due to some reasons mentioned above.