The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nuclear weapons play a fundamental part in maintaining the world peace and even help to supply cheap and clean energy. In my opinion, however, the pros of nuclear technology do more harm than good.

On the one hand, nuclear technology brings certain positive values to the world. Firstly, fossil fuels like oil and gas are running out and nuclear power is a relatively sustainable source of energy. Also, building power stations are cleaner than fossil fuel power stations. Secondly, using nuclear technology reduces carbon dioxide releasing to the environment that may result in environmental degradation, global warming as well as has devastating effects on the atmosphere of the planet. Finally, nuclear power can help produce electricity without wasting natural resources such as coal, gas and oil.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that nuclear power exerts more pernicious impacts than beneficial ones. It cannot be denied that building nuclear power stations waste a plethora of money than other kinds of stations. To illustrate, electricity in nuclear power station are approximately three times as expensive as wind stations. Furthermore, nuclear waste disposal has become a significant issue worldwide as there is currently no way to decontaminate radioactive materials and many people worry that terrorists could steal radioactive materials. Moreover, it is much safer to produce energy from renewable sources of energy including solar and wind since these materials can be easily found in nature.

In conclusion, although nuclear power has enhanced our lives in some aspects, I personally reckon that