The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree.

The threat of atomic weapons maintains peace on the planet, however, clean and inexpensive energy could be obtained from nuclear power. Some people would argue that the benefits of this type of energy are far greater than the drawbacks.

This essay totally disagrees with this statement because although use of nuclear energy can control climate change, the threat of destroying all the living creatures if nuclear war takes place far outweighs any advantages.

The primary benefit of nuclear energy is that it can stop and reverse global warming. This is because unlike fossil fuel that produces carbon dioxide and elevates planet’s temperature, report by the Green Peace Magazine showed that replacing oil and coal by nuclear energy will control climate change within 5 years. However, it should be noted that nuclear bombs can destroying the whole planet.

Despite the benefit, the main drawback of nuclear power is that it could wipe out life on the earth. That is to say that nuclear weapons have a massive destructive power that put an immense threat to our civilization. Many countries like the USA, Japan and north Korea are trying to acquire their weapon to protect themselves and control other countries, this means that a worldwide nuclear conflict may arise at any time. For example, during the Second World War, a city in Japan was attacked by a nuclear missile and all its residents lost their lives. This means that the drawback of atomic energy far outweighs the advantages.

In conclusion, while nuclear power can stop and reverse climate change, I believe that the dangers of destructing all the planets and its habitats are by far greater than any benefits.