The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issues of nuclear technology have been discussed controversially around the world for a long time. Some people consider the danger caused by nuclear weapons, while others reckon that this kind of technology can bring a number of benefits to human beings. In my opinion, although there are some drawbacks in nuclear technology, I believe that the advantages do outweigh these drawbacks.

On the one hand, nuclear technology can be applied to the various field, such as military or the needs of the domestic. Nuclear weapons have a notorious reputation all over the world since it may leave lots of inevitable damage to people. For example, the cities in Japan were destroyed by the explosion of atomic bombs during the Second World War causing plenty of death and wound people. Also, the descendants in that place where left an amount of radiation hazard suffered from incurable disease for several decades. Besides, the plants producing electricity to people can be easily destroyed by natural disasters, such as tsunami, earthquake, if they do not have enough protection.

On the other hand, the merit of this technology is that it is an effective alternative to producing energy. The main reason is that human beings can obtain a great deal of energy from nuclear plants with little substances. Also, instead of burning fossil fuels causing lots of emissions which speeds up global warming, nuclear plants produce electricity without any pollution. Therefore, we can say that nuclear technology is one of the most effective methods to produce energy that can indeed solve the biggest problems which human beings are facing.

To sum up, nuclear technology may bring some drawbacks to people, but those drawbacks can be controlled by human beings. Also, it can effectively improve the problems of environmental degradation. Therefore, its benefits outweigh the cons.