Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views between governments and people about measuring the progress of countries. Government believe that economic growth is important to a country, while people think there are still other types of progress are as significant as economic progress. I, personally, agree with the point that growth in other aspects is also important.

It has several reasons that economic growth is the first priority for governments. Firstly, a well economy can bring ample opportunities of jobs to people, a high level of employment and also high salaries. Therefore, it can effectively improve the lifestyle of some people who are in poverty. Secondly, there would be more money for governments to spend on manufacturing infrastructure and public services which lead people to a more convenient life. Thirdly, trading power influences the position of nations on the global stage, so a good economy bringing commercial prospects to countries can raise the country’s standing.

However, it is often argued that it exists various progress that governments should also put it at the same status comparing with economic growth. The treatment to the minority of people is also a measure of progress for a country because it reflects whether a country equips well social welfare state which means people are living in a moral society. Besides, the environment issues are as enormous as the above on the grounds that it represents that not only residents but also wildlife in a country have a suitable living quality. Also, a well healthcare system can prevent citizens from epidemic so that there are no worries about the lack of working labours which results in economic rundown.

To sum up, although economic growth is important to countries, there are still other types of progress having the same status as economic progress.