More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is often argued that there has been a sharp increase in the number of students who are choosing to continue their higher education in a foreign country. While I agree that studying abroad exert pernicious impacts upon teenagers to a certain extent, I think its advantages far outweigh its drawback.

On the one hand, pursuing higher education in a foreign country is more likely to cause some minor problems. The first problem would be that they have to face up with much paperwork such as visa applications. Another motivation for this stance is that learning in a foreign language is challenging. To be more specific, they take higher risks of suffering from loneliness due to the language barrier. Last but by no means least, youngsters stand chances of experiencing homesickness owing to living alone and studying in an unfamiliar culture.

On the other hand, studying abroad does more good than harm. Firstly, learners will become more independent and mature. For example, they have to learn to pay their bills, clean, cook for themselves. Furthermore, foreign institutions may offer better courses and qualifications as prestigious universities often employ teachers who are experts in their fields. This would result in the fact that the degree gained overseas can open the door to better job opportunities. Finally, living abroad can broaden students’ horizons as they are exposed to different cultures and customs.

In conclusion, I believe that students should go to another country to continue their higher education because its benefits outweigh its advantages.