Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

People have different views with regard to the question of whether exams still play a fundamental part in testing learner’s abilities or regular judgement will replace them. From my point of view, I completely agree that it is of necessity for the repeated assessments to be applied.

On the one hand, exams exert a pernicious influence upon education. Firstly, some people are good at learning but they are not likely to suffer from harsh conditions during an exam. Therefore, they cannot complete the tests under too much time pressure or fully express their ideas in a comprehensive way. Also, taking tests is a snapshot of their knowledge rather a detailed understanding so the exam results are inconclusive as they are only based on their performances on that day.

On the other hand, the advantages of continuous assessments outweigh the benefits of examinations. They offer a better standard of learning. Because they need students to make a revision after one lesson and put it into practice at an earlier stage, leaners do not have to cram up for an exam. Furthermore, only by regular judgements can teachers highlight the problems of their students so they can find out solutions to these problems. Finally, as knowledge is used on a frequent basis, it will lead to an enhancement in levels of retention.

In conclusion, I believe that continuous judgement should be used as a tool of testing students instead of examinations.