Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern society, people have a significant connection with advertising in daily life. Some people agree that advertising enables people to become more creative, while I strongly believe that advertising has detrimental effects on people by enabling them to have the same lifestyle.

A part of people thinks advertising forces the general public to have the same life because of two reasons. Firstly, people have fewer choices on products because multinational enterprises make use of advertising as a marketing strategy to monopolize the market. More specifically speaking, big companies such as the smartphone manufacturer, Apple, aim to increase their market share through advertising in order to suppress the small companies. Consequently, products of most small companies cannot survive and consumers are forced to buy the big brands.

Secondly, people are more likely to be attracted by the particular trend of lifestyle which is promoted by the advertisers. It is so evident that almost all big brands tend to use such a way in order to be successful in the competitive market. As a result, this marketing strategy easily affects and standardizes most people’s lifestyle. In some certain industries, in particular, the famous brands in the luxury industry like Coach or Chanel, creating the main trend in people’s appearance ranging from clothes to perfume through advertising. Especially, youngsters who focus on the material life might pursue this trend, and eventually everyone wears the same clothes or shoes.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that advertising makes people become less creative and indirectly standardize people’s lifestyle because it not only has the negative influence on people’s preferences of appearance but also limits consumers’ choices on products.