Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is very common that most parents spoil their children by fulfilling children’s needs and allowing their children do things they want. Personally, I do not agree that it is beneficial to raise children. I think this kind of family education can have detrimental long-term consequences.

There are several reasons why I disagree that it is not a good way of upbringing for children. Firstly, such a method have a negative influence on children’s characteristics. To pamper children can easily enable them to become arrogant. They might feel they are able to do everything and not blamed by others. Secondly, spoiling children is also harmful to their value of spending money. Children are attracted by the advertisements of the latest toys and video games which are not necessary. Parents often buy these things in order to make their children happy. As a result, parents indirectly teach the wrong opinion of using money and children might not aware that they are wasting money.

The children of indulgent parents are likely to have a range of negative long-term consequences and personality traits. People who are indulged by their parents can become self-centered. As a result, they are not adaptable to work because they are not used to following instructions of the supervisors. Also, children spoilt in their youth might have violent behaviors as they become adults. It is reported by research of National Taiwan University that a large number of criminals committing serious crimes have violent and aggressive traits in their young age.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that such a parenting style can be harmful to children’s mental development and result in the negative personalities in both short-term and long-term.