Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Literature and history are essential subjects for children. While I agree teaching children the foreign literature and history is important, I believe it is more critical to teach them the literature and history of their own country.

On the one hand, some people think learning foreign history and literature has some positive influences on children. Firstly, students can gain knowledge from foreign history. When reading the textbooks of the foreign history, they learn the development of international economy and politics. For example, students can have a comprehensive understanding of the global trade system from 1700 to 1900 through the European history. Such the knowledge can not be learned from the national history. Secondly, knowing foreign history and literature can be useful for communication with foreigners. Children learning foreign history and literature can easily make foreign friends because they are more familiar with the foreign culture than others.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why I agree students should learn their own history and literature as priority. Students become more patriotic if they know more about their homeland and country. By learning the history of the places where they grow and the culture of their country, students can develop a sense of identity. They have more public awareness and take care of the domestic issues as citizens Also, children are more likely to have ideas of the future plan such as career through the national history. Pupils can clearly realise the advantage and disadvantage of the industrial development in their country if they read the books of domestic economic development.

In conclusion, although some people argue that it is more vital for children to study the foreign history and literature, I still support we should focus on our own history and literature.