In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. which do you think is appropriate today’s world?

In modern society, people now have different opinions about education. I partly agree that students should learn various skills from science to art, however, I believe to focus on a few of subjects is more useful than studying a variety of subjects.

Learning many subjects have some positive effects on pulpils. Firstly, having a wide range of classes enable students to become more willing to study. Particularly, some students in secondary school often think studying is boring and they would rather spend time on video games with friends. If schools provide more subjects for students, they are more likely to feel curious of knowledge and find the subjects which they are interested in. Secondly, people who have a large number of different professional skills have the huge advantage in this modern society. Compared with the society in the past, business market becomes gradually competitive because of globalisation and companies and governments have the huge demand of people who have different professional skills.

On the other hand, I believe studying few subjects in a particular field is more suitable for students. most scholars spend several decades on a single issue because It is not easy to be specialized with a professional skill. As a result, the child who wants to be a scientist should spend their time on chemistry or physics. They do not need to waste time on irrelevant classes such as music or art. Also, to force pupils to learn the subjects which they have no talent in is harmful to their academic performance. Children who are not good at expression often feel extremely difficult to study foreign languages. They might be painful and eventually be tired of studying.

In conclusion, although learning various subjects can encourage students to study and become more competitive in the future, I still argue that a student should focus on a narrow range of subjects to have domain knowledge in a specialized field.