In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is reported that the number of the elders will account for more than 50% of total population in Taiwan in 2030. Some people think it is positive for our country, while I strongly believe it can have detrimental effects on our society.

A part of people argues that there are two problems. Firstly, too many older people can lead to the serious financial deficits. Governments need to spend a large amount of money on social welfare such as the residential homes for the elders who do not have family members. Also, the increasing older population consume the huge number of medical resources and governments have to plan another budget for the medical care centers for these older people. In fact, this money can be used to improve the development of technology and business instead of wasting on older people.

Secondly, youngsters can feel more stressful because they have to raise more unemployed older people. Compared with the past, young men nowadays live in a extremely competitive society. In particular, their job opportunities and salaries dramatically decrease because of the severe economic recession after 2008 financial crisis. Such a issue can indirectly have a negative influence on younger adults’ mental health. It is indicated by the research that most mental illness of young people are resulted from the stress of family responsibility.

In conclusion, the high proportion of older people can not only affect the economy in a country but also result in some social issues like young people’s economic burden.