The workplace nowadays is trying to employ the equal number of females and males. Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

Most companies now focus on the working right of women and tend to balance the number of men and women in offices. To some extent, I partly agree it has negative effects on the working environment, while I would argue that the trend has more positive effects than negative effects.

A part of people thinks females should not work for two reasons. Firstly, people think women have to stay at homes to take care of their family members because of some traditional values in Taiwanese society. Because the lack of care of the children and the elders can become a serious issue if both parents have to work all day long. Especially, children do not have enough communication with their parents so that they might have mental problems or bad behaviors learning from the peers. Secondly, female employees are more likely to have the emotional issue which leads to the argument with their colleagues. It is reported by the statistical research of National Taiwan University that more than half of conflicts in offices are resulted from the disputes of female workers.

On the other hand, I believe that keeping the balanced proportion of female workers is more beneficial to the enterprise. In some industries, compared with males, female employees actually have a better performance. In cosmetics industry, for instance, women are more familiar with the products such as perfume or cosmetic cream. As a result, they often have more comprehensive marketing strategies. Also, women have some personalities and talents that most men do not have. Women can be more patient than men, which means female teachers are more suitable for the work places like kindergartens. In addition, women show a remarkable talent in music or painting which emphasize the importance of creativity.

In conclusion, although hiring a female employee might cause some problems, I still believe women have the right to pursue the career life as same as males.