Some people think success in life comes from hard work and determination. Others think money and appearance are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different opinions about the causes of the achievement and happiness in life. Some people believe the mental factors such as diligence decide the success, other people think success is based on material factors like wealth. Personally, I agree that people can be successful because of hard work and determination.

There are two reasons why I support success depends on mental factors. Firstly, people can become the famous scholar or researcher through their hard work and wisdom. Various scientists with many remarkable scientific achievements such as Einstein or Tesla make use of their knowledge and spend much time on developing technologies diligently. Such the scientists make great contributions to human beings by their creative ideas and continuous research instead of money. Second, most successful entrepreneurs achieve their goals in business because they are not afraid of learning new things. Mr. Morris Chang, for instance, is the founder of semiconductor industry in Taiwan. His achievement comes from the hard work at his young age.

On the other hand, some people argue that become successful by their material and physical advantage. The super stars use their appearances to attract a large group of fans. Most actors actually can make money easily through their faces and do not need to have high qualifications. Also, people born in the rich families can be more likely to become successful in the future. The advantage of their family backgrounds can support the resources they need. It is reported by the statistical research of National Taiwan University that pupils who come from the rich family are much more than the students in poverty in top universities.

In conclusion, although some people can use money or appearance to achieve their goals, I still strongly believe mental causes are more vital than material factors for people’s success.