Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is very controversial whether police officers should carry firearms for security and the public have different opinions about the issue. Some people disagree that the police need to take guns, while to some extent I agree that policemen should carry guns.

A part of people think the police taking guns would cause a higher level of violence for some reasons. Firstly, there is a risk of accidents if the police are allowed to take guns. Passengers might be involved in the fight between police officers and criminals. It is reported by a research of National Taiwan university that there are thousands of accidents which lead to the injuries or death of the innocent people because of the shooting. Secondly, gun ownership of the police is unnecessary in many industrialized countries. Due to the low crime rates caused by high standards of living and education, policemen do not need to carry guns to deter criminals.

On the other hand, I believe gun ownership of the police is necessary. One of the reasons is guns can be used as self-defense for the police. In some countries with high crime rates, criminals often have strong weapons because of the prosperous black markets of firearms. Having guns can ensure the security of the police force when they fight against the criminals. Also, carrying guns can effectively prevent the potential criminals from committing crimes. The police patrolling on the streets with firearms is a strong deterrence for the drug dealers or the gangs in the communities.

In conclusion, although there are several disadvantages of gun ownership of policemen, I still prefer that police officers should carry guns because having guns is the most efficient way of keeping social security.