Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that children’s school curriculum should be involved with the literature and history of their own country in lieu of other countries. However, I believe that this statement depends on different reasons because of the following explanations.

I completely concur with the idea that the cultural and literary development of other parts of the world makes a great contribution to the development of each country. Firstly, knowing clearly the pros and cons of other nations can strengthen the advantage of each country. Without a clear awareness of the history of other cultures, we cannot prepare for any likely threaten, such as a potential war from warlike countries. Furthermore, learning about other civilisations makes children more sympathetic to less developed countries. Last but not least, this can bring about a better life for children. The more knowledge about various cultures children gain, the more they will become a global citizen, and thus, have a decent job in the future.

However, I believe that the literature and history of each country also place importance on its children’s schooling. The first prominent justification is that the history of predecessors is an integral part of basic knowledge that children have to gain from an early age in order to know their origins. More importantly, learning the failure from the past can offer leasons for later success. The truth is that the young generations might not understand how their ancestors had to experience in the past without learning their own history, and thus, the children in the future are likely to feel less motivated to develop their nation. The incredible development of Japan, for example, significantly stems from the sufferings of Japanese individuals in the past which is clearly aware by the youthful generations.

In conclusion, while there are reasons given to justify that children’s education needs to focus on their own culture and history rather than those of the rest of the world, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.