Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people differ on the idea that youngsters should learn their national literature and history rather than that of other countries. I concur with this idea by the following explanations.

On the one hand, by studying traditional literature, children might develop their cultural identity. In fact, when a Japanese child read a haiku poem, which is a traditional Japanese literary work, he or she will imagine and acknowledge the author’s experiences. This means that the children might learn about the tradition as well as the cultural differences between them and the previous generations. Therefore, youngsters can create their own identity through these experiences. In addition, discovering the past of a country also helps young people be grateful to all the sacrifices of their ancestors. As students learn about the battle protecting the homeland, children might realize what they have nowadays was paid by the lives of the previous generations.

On the other hand, teaching world history and literature might have some potential drawbacks. Firstly, world history undeniably places more pressure on homework than the history of a single country. In order to understand about international past events, learners have to know a broad context which probably involved with many countries. For example, there were more than 30 countries might be related to the second world war, let alone the political and economic events of each site. Secondly, most of the world literature appears to be complicated and incomprehensible to typical youngsters. Because the authors come from different countries with different cultures, the readers may need a certain level of education to comprehend these works.

In conclusion, teaching the history and literature of a country for its young people clearly has benefits. And I completely agree that this should be included in the school curriculum.