It is true that among all the inventions throughout history, internet plays a vital role in our society. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that the most crucial invention is the internet. The first prominent justification is that the online network is the key factor in free access to information because all forms of information can be digitized and transferred through the interconnected wired network with about a third of light velocity. As a result, the second point is that the internet revolutionizes the way we communicate. Our communication nowadays are less influenced by distance, hence, the delay is negligible. For example, there are many methods of exchanging message, such as email, chat applications and social networks. Most of them can provide real-time text by using "Websockets".

However, I believe internet may not be the most important invention due to the fact that there are some disadvantages that have negative effects on social development. Firstly, the net neutrality which protects users from censorship and information regulation is a contributing factor in the spread of misleading information and propaganda. Secondly, big data provided by the internet gives rise to machine learning and artificial intelligence. Unfortunately, like other tools, these technologies can be used to exploit people, undermine their privacy and may lead to catastrophic effect on society. For instance, an experiment conducted by Facebook shown that user emotion and mood can be influenced by news they saw.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that internet is the most substantial invention in human history, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.