Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Many people differ on the idea that artificial intelligence advancement is predicted to either improve or have a negative influence on our lives in the future. There are good arguments for both aspects, but I believe the former is most likely to occur.

Artificial intelligence might indeed have some unfavourable impacts in the short term. First, the rise of the machines is taking jobs away from people. For example, robotic arms have replaced many workers in Amazon storage management. This type of work requires the precision and relentless working hours, which is better done by a machine than a human. This is also true in the case of data processing, due to the ability of machines to perform calculations faster than any human beings. These machine learning technologies are gradually replacing individuals. Computers might be faster and more precise than people but they cannot surpass human in areas such as arts, ethics, and cultural studies. So in the long term, the labour market will be reconstructed and these effects are likely to be minimized.

Notwithstanding the transient drawbacks, futuristic society will witness a range of miraculous improvements coming from artificial intelligence technology. The most prominent justification is that people are going to be released from the burden of manual labour. Industries such as food, power, clothes are anticipated to be operated by machines and they only require minimal supervision of the human. In addition, the artificial intelligence also plays a pivotal role in developing cutting-edge technologies like genetic engineering or nanotechnology. These technologies might lead to further growth in different fields and further enhance the quality of our lives.

In conclusion, the advancement of artificial intelligence appears to be worrisome because of the impacts on the workforce in the near future. In my opinion, this technology will ultimately bring about a better era of prosperity than this world has ever seen.